Writers: Don’t do NaNoWriMo. Please. Don’t do it.

Great analysis on how NaNoWriMo can damage a writer’s mindset on the craft, or ruin their passion all together.

As stated, it’s not about how fast you put the nails in, and bang out a house that can be blown over by wind from the slightest bit of plot critique. It’s about the quality of the nails, their precision and function within the structure, and the overall appeal of the finished product.

Once again, great job, Sean.

SeanMunger.com

broken typewriter

Let’s say you’re a writer. Perhaps you’re starting out for the very first time hoping to write that novel you’ve been dreaming about for a long time. Maybe you’ve had some writing experience but haven’t really taken the plunge. Today is October 16, and in a few weeks, on November 1, an event that is ostensibly custom-made for you will begin: National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). As a writer myself, I have a simple piece of advice for you.

Don’t do it. Don’t do NaNoWriMo.

Before the writers in my audience go to their WordPress readers and unsubscribe my blog, before they unfollow me on Twitter or un-like all my articles, before they send a mob of peasants with torches and pitchforks to hunt me down for speaking this blasphemy, let me explain. Just hear me out.

I believe that NaNoWriMo is a net negative for new writers. I think…

View original post 1,833 more words

Leave a Reply

